Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Noordwijk are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Scheveningen for the two following months.

December 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 11 December
2:15 hrs
124 cm
 
 
10:46 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
14:31 hrs
119 cm
 
 
22:39 hrs
 
-59 cm
Thursday 12 December
2:55 hrs
128 cm
 
 
11:22 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
15:09 hrs
128 cm
 
 
23:15 hrs
 
-57 cm
Friday 13 December
3:31 hrs
129 cm
 
 
11:51 hrs
 
-60 cm
 
15:45 hrs
133 cm
 
 
23:48 hrs
 
-55 cm
Saturday 14 December
4:08 hrs
125 cm
 
 
12:26 hrs
 
-63 cm
 
16:26 hrs
136 cm
 
Sunday 15 December
0:20 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
4:49 hrs
118 cm
 
 
13:02 hrs
 
-67 cm
 
17:06 hrs
137 cm
 
Monday 16 December
1:01 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
5:35 hrs
109 cm
 
 
13:43 hrs
 
-71 cm
 
17:49 hrs
134 cm
 
Tuesday 17 December
1:49 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
6:24 hrs
100 cm
 
 
14:26 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
18:37 hrs
129 cm
 
Wednesday 18 December
2:39 hrs
 
-54 cm
 
7:15 hrs
91 cm
 
 
15:16 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
19:36 hrs
121 cm
 
Thursday 19 December
3:39 hrs
 
-50 cm
 
8:20 hrs
84 cm
 
 
16:15 hrs
 
-70 cm
 
20:44 hrs
114 cm
 
Friday 20 December
4:48 hrs
 
-46 cm
 
9:25 hrs
80 cm
 
 
17:25 hrs
 
-68 cm
 
22:00 hrs
112 cm
 
Saturday 21 December
6:08 hrs
 
-46 cm
 
10:36 hrs
80 cm
 
 
18:46 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
23:08 hrs
112 cm
 
Sunday 22 December
7:30 hrs
 
-50 cm
 
11:40 hrs
87 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-70 cm
Monday 23 December
0:09 hrs
114 cm
 
 
8:32 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
12:37 hrs
97 cm
 
 
20:34 hrs
 
-69 cm
Tuesday 24 December
1:05 hrs
117 cm
 
 
9:20 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
13:29 hrs
108 cm
 
 
21:40 hrs
 
-64 cm
Wednesday 25 December
1:58 hrs
119 cm
 
 
9:55 hrs
 
-58 cm
 
14:18 hrs
118 cm
 
 
22:20 hrs
 
-60 cm
Thursday 26 December
2:49 hrs
120 cm
 
 
10:45 hrs
 
-63 cm
 
15:05 hrs
126 cm
 
 
23:12 hrs
 
-56 cm
Friday 27 December
3:35 hrs
118 cm
 
 
11:34 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
15:46 hrs
131 cm
 
Saturday 28 December
0:00 hrs
 
-55 cm
 
4:23 hrs
115 cm
 
 
12:16 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
16:28 hrs
134 cm
 
Sunday 29 December
0:45 hrs
 
-54 cm
 
4:59 hrs
111 cm
 
 
13:05 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
17:06 hrs
132 cm
 
Monday 30 December
1:36 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
5:39 hrs
105 cm
 
 
13:50 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
17:49 hrs
128 cm
 
Tuesday 31 December
2:16 hrs
 
-49 cm
 
6:15 hrs
98 cm
 
 
14:26 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
18:29 hrs
120 cm
 

January 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 1 January
2:45 hrs
 
-43 cm
 
6:54 hrs
91 cm
 
 
14:44 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
19:16 hrs
110 cm
 
Thursday 2 January
2:57 hrs
 
-41 cm
 
7:36 hrs
85 cm
 
 
15:19 hrs
 
-75 cm
 
20:06 hrs
101 cm
 
Friday 3 January
3:20 hrs
 
-42 cm
 
8:18 hrs
79 cm
 
 
15:55 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
21:00 hrs
93 cm
 
Saturday 4 January
4:04 hrs
 
-43 cm
 
9:14 hrs
73 cm
 
 
16:48 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
22:05 hrs
88 cm
 
Sunday 5 January
5:07 hrs
 
-43 cm
 
10:25 hrs
71 cm
 
 
18:04 hrs
 
-66 cm
 
23:04 hrs
89 cm
 
Monday 6 January
6:27 hrs
 
-45 cm
 
11:35 hrs
76 cm
 
 
19:05 hrs
 
-65 cm
Tuesday 7 January
0:10 hrs
95 cm
 
 
8:05 hrs
 
-50 cm
 
12:36 hrs
87 cm
 
 
20:10 hrs
 
-65 cm
Wednesday 8 January
1:04 hrs
103 cm
 
 
9:23 hrs
 
-57 cm
 
13:24 hrs
100 cm
 
 
21:18 hrs
 
-64 cm
Thursday 9 January
1:45 hrs
110 cm
 
 
10:11 hrs
 
-63 cm
 
14:06 hrs
112 cm
 
 
22:15 hrs
 
-63 cm
Friday 10 January
2:34 hrs
115 cm
 
 
10:56 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
14:49 hrs
123 cm
 
 
23:00 hrs
 
-60 cm
Saturday 11 January
3:16 hrs
117 cm
 
 
11:25 hrs
 
-67 cm
 
15:28 hrs
131 cm
 
 
23:44 hrs
 
-58 cm
Sunday 12 January
3:59 hrs
116 cm
 
 
12:06 hrs
 
-71 cm
 
16:14 hrs
136 cm
 
Monday 13 January
0:10 hrs
 
-58 cm
 
4:44 hrs
112 cm
 
 
12:46 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
16:55 hrs
138 cm
 
Tuesday 14 January
0:50 hrs
 
-60 cm
 
5:26 hrs
107 cm
 
 
13:35 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
17:39 hrs
137 cm
 
Wednesday 15 January
1:40 hrs
 
-61 cm
 
6:14 hrs
102 cm
 
 
14:10 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
18:25 hrs
133 cm
 
Thursday 16 January
2:32 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
7:04 hrs
97 cm
 
 
15:00 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
19:19 hrs
127 cm
 
Friday 17 January
3:20 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
7:59 hrs
93 cm
 
 
16:05 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
20:25 hrs
118 cm
 
Saturday 18 January
4:15 hrs
 
-51 cm
 
8:56 hrs
89 cm
 
 
16:57 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
21:26 hrs
109 cm
 
Sunday 19 January
5:28 hrs
 
-47 cm
 
10:05 hrs
86 cm
 
 
18:09 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
22:35 hrs
101 cm
 
Monday 20 January
6:38 hrs
 
-48 cm
 
11:05 hrs
86 cm
 
 
19:15 hrs
 
-71 cm
 
23:45 hrs
97 cm
 
Tuesday 21 January
7:48 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
12:16 hrs
92 cm
 
 
20:22 hrs
 
-69 cm
Wednesday 22 January
0:55 hrs
98 cm
 
 
9:05 hrs
 
-61 cm
 
13:16 hrs
102 cm
 
 
21:35 hrs
 
-68 cm
Thursday 23 January
1:55 hrs
103 cm
 
 
9:55 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
14:09 hrs
113 cm
 
 
22:30 hrs
 
-65 cm
Friday 24 January
2:45 hrs
107 cm
 
 
10:40 hrs
 
-75 cm
 
14:55 hrs
121 cm
 
 
23:14 hrs
 
-61 cm
Saturday 25 January
3:33 hrs
109 cm
 
 
11:26 hrs
 
-79 cm
 
15:39 hrs
127 cm
 
 
23:55 hrs
 
-57 cm
Sunday 26 January
4:16 hrs
108 cm
 
 
12:06 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
16:16 hrs
129 cm
 
Monday 27 January
0:30 hrs
 
-54 cm
 
4:48 hrs
107 cm
 
 
12:45 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
16:51 hrs
130 cm
 
Tuesday 28 January
1:15 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
5:24 hrs
105 cm
 
 
13:26 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
17:33 hrs
126 cm
 
Wednesday 29 January
1:41 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
5:55 hrs
103 cm
 
 
13:55 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
18:06 hrs
120 cm
 
Thursday 30 January
2:10 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
6:26 hrs
100 cm
 
 
14:16 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
18:44 hrs
113 cm
 
Friday 31 January
2:24 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
7:02 hrs
97 cm
 
 
14:52 hrs
 
-82 cm
 
19:20 hrs
106 cm
 

February 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 February
2:54 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
7:45 hrs
93 cm
 
 
15:28 hrs
 
-78 cm
 
20:06 hrs
99 cm
 
Sunday 2 February
3:32 hrs
 
-53 cm
 
8:25 hrs
87 cm
 
 
14:14 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
20:55 hrs
91 cm
 
Monday 3 February
4:29 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
9:25 hrs
79 cm
 
 
17:07 hrs
 
-68 cm
 
22:05 hrs
84 cm
 
Tuesday 4 February
5:22 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
10:46 hrs
75 cm
 
 
18:24 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
23:20 hrs
82 cm
 
Wednesday 5 February
6:12 hrs
 
-52 cm
 
11:56 hrs
80 cm
 
 
19:30 hrs
 
-64 cm
Thursday 6 February
0:24 hrs
85 cm
 
 
8:25 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
12:56 hrs
92 cm
 
 
20:58 hrs
 
-65 cm
Friday 7 February
1:24 hrs
93 cm
 
 
9:41 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
13:46 hrs
107 cm
 
 
22:05 hrs
 
-67 cm
Saturday 8 February
2:15 hrs
101 cm
 
 
10:25 hrs
 
-70 cm
 
14:31 hrs
121 cm
 
 
22:53 hrs
 
-65 cm
Sunday 9 February
3:04 hrs
107 cm
 
 
11:16 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
15:12 hrs
132 cm
 
 
23:29 hrs
 
-62 cm
Monday 10 February
3:45 hrs
111 cm
 
 
11:45 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
15:55 hrs
139 cm
 
 
23:59 hrs
 
-61 cm
Tuesday 11 February
4:28 hrs
112 cm
 
 
12:30 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
16:37 hrs
142 cm
 
Wednesday 12 February
0:35 hrs
 
-63 cm
 
5:12 hrs
111 cm
 
 
13:10 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
17:22 hrs
141 cm
 

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Disclaimer

faqThis tidal information is only intended for recreational purposes, such as hiking and beach recreation. No guarantees are made about the correctness of this free tides data. You may not use this page if anyone or anything could come to harm as a result of using it (e.g. for navigational purposes).

Ebb and flow

Getijden

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.